Curry Chicken

I may not be around much next little while. I still have lots to blather on about, but a couple real-life concerns are demanding my attention. Before I go, here’s a recipe.


There’s a curry recipe I like to follow, but I’m not a fan of how it’s written; the garam masala is in a separate recipe, which makes sense and I appreciate the modularity, but I don’t currently make any other dishes requiring it, so for me, I’d be happier having it in a single post.

Also, for someone like me, this is a complicated recipe, as it requires preparing a marinade, marinating overnight (for best results), and a few steps once it gets to the stove top. Still, I’m happy to make the investment of time and energy because the results have so far been really good, i.e., really tasty.

To make things a bit easier for myself, I’ve taken to prepping ingredient bowls for each stage of the cooking (see picture). And since I’ve taken that picture, I find it really helps me to remember both the ingredients and the steps, and I no longer need to refer to the written recipe as much.

Ingredients

Marinade

1 cup plain yoghurt (I use Balkan style)
1-2 tsp grated ginger
1 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp vegetable oil

Garam Masala

1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
3/4 tsp ground black pepper
3/4 tsp ground cardamom
(Note you will only need 1 1/2 tsp of this mixture)

The Rest

1/4 cup ghee (I use either 1/4 cup canola oil or a bit less margarine)
4 lbs skinless chicken (I just buy 4 good-sized legs)
1 – 1.5 cups chopped onions
3 – 4 cloves crushed garlic (I press it)
2 tsp grated ginger
3/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp salt
1 bay leaf
1 – 1.5 cups crushed tomatoes (if more tomatoes, use less water)
0.5 – 1 cup water (if more water, use less tomatoes)
2 Tbsp curry powder (I use store-bought but you can also follow this curry powder recipe)

Marinating Instructions

  1. Mix yoghurt, ginger, oil, and lemon juice.
  2. Put chicken in a plastic bag or other container suitable for marinating (I use a glassware baking dish)
  3. Cover chicken with mixture
  4. Refrigerate overnight for best results, but even an hour or two helps improve flavor

Preparation

To make your life easier, prepare ingredient bowls as follows:

  • Bowl 1: chopped onions, cayenne pepper, salt
  • Bowl 2: crushed garlic, grated ginger
  • Bowl 3: 1 1/2 tsp garam masala, curry powder, bay leaf
  • Bowl 4: crushed tomatoes

Cooking

  1. In a large frying pan, heat your ghee, oil, or margarine.
  2. Remove chicken from marinade and place in the pan.
  3. Cook on medium heat until brown. (I brown both sides.)
  4. Remove chicken and put aside.
  5. Empty bowl 1 into the pan. Cook until onions are soft (5 minutes).
  6. Empty bowl 2 into the pan. Cook for 2 minutes.
  7. Empty bowl 3 into the pan. Cook for 1 minute.
  8. Empty bowl 4 into the pan. Cook for 5 minutes.
  9. Put chicken back in the pan and add the 1 cup water. Lower heat a little (low-medium?) and cook until chicken is tender. (20 minutes or so.)

Serve with basmati rice (white or brown) and naan bread.

One thought on “Curry Chicken

  1. BTW, had to improvise a yoghurt-free version of the marinade tonight when I remembered one of my guests was lactose-intolerant. Just replaced the yoghurt with water and a bit of oil. Maybe not ideal, but seemed to go over well with everyone.

Leave a Reply

